Westboro Village BIA Board Elections

The Westboro Village BIA is going through our very own municipal election!

Westboro Village Business Improvement Area catchment

In alignment with the City Council of Ottawa, all Business Improvement Areas will be holding an election for a new Board of Management for each BIA.

The Board of Management (BoM) is entrusted with the improvement, beautification, and maintenance of the BIA, and the promotion of the Area as a business and shopping area. A Board Member must be an individual from a business assessed in the catchment of the BIA. To learn more about the function and roles of the BIA and BoM please visit our About Westboro BIA  page.

Each member of the Board, once elected and appointed by City Council, shall hold office from the time of appointment until the expiration of the term of Council (4 years) – provided the Board member remains qualified (must be an assessed BIA member).

All members of the BIA are eligible for election to the BoM!

A nomination form will need to be filled out and submitted to the BIA office. Request a nomination form from the BIA office email: admin@westborovillage.com
Once submitted, the Nomination Committee will compile and provide a list of prospective board members. Completed nomination forms should be submitted no later than December 1, 2018.
The list of nominations will be circulated to the BIA membership via eNewsletter no less than 14 days prior to the Annual General Meeting  where the Board Election takes place.

Board Election and Voting

The Annual General Meeting where the Board Election takes place is scheduled for January 9, 2019 5:30 pm – 8:00 pm. at Whispers Pub and Eatery, 249 Richmond Road. BIA members will receive notification of the Annual General Meeting via email with 30 days notice. If you are a member and you have not received BIA eNewsletters to date, please subscribe here

Every BIA member has one vote at the Annual General Meeting. If you are unable to make it to the Annual General Meeting, you can cast your ballot via proxy. Just let the BIA office know via email using subject ‘vote by proxy’: name, business, proxy assigned name.

Photographer credit: Ellen Bond. Photograph left to right: Rick Morris, Steve Harding, Fiona Mitchell, Darren Prashad, Molly Van der Schee, Bill Bourk, Michelle Groulx, Dan Hwang, Jeff Leiper, Richard Bown. (Missing: MaryAnne Petrella)